Sannie Overly named new Kentucky Democratic Party chair

The Kentucky Democratic Party’s State Central Executive Committee unanimously voted state Rep. Sannie Overly as the Democrats’ new chairwoman in a meeting Saturday. Overly, a Paris Democrat who chairs the House of Representatives’ majority caucus and ran as the running mate of former Attorney General Jack Conway in an unsuccessful gubernatorial campaign last year, replaces …

Read More →

Kentucky’s Bizarre Attack on Health Reform

Gov. Matt Bevin of Kentucky is dismantling the state’s highly successful exchange on which people buy private health insurance policies or enroll inMedicaid under the Affordable Care Act. His shortsighted and pointless show of defiance against the Obama administration’s health care reforms could harm thousands of people in Kentucky, who may fall between the cracks …

Read More →

David Yates elected Metro Council president

Putting their differences aside, Louisville Democrats united to elect David Yates as president of the Metro Council along a strict party line vote at Thursday’s organizational meeting. Yates, 35, is the youngest council president since city and county governments merged. He was nominated by outgoing Council President David Tandy, who announced this week he would not seek the post or …

Read More →

David Tandy: ‘An honor and privilege to serve’

After careful thought and consideration, as well as conversations with family and close friends, I have decided not to seek re-election to the Louisville Metro Council in 2016. It’s been an honor and a privilege serving the people, businesses and nonprofit organizations in Louisville’s Central Business District and the neighborhoods that border downtown on the …

Read More →